Georgia Ports Authority

GPA Board Members

As a quasi-state agency, a thirteen-member Board of Directors governs the activities of the GPA. The Board is appointed by the Governor, from the state at large, to serve four-year, staggered terms. Policy directives, administrative duties and managerial controls are implemented by a Chief Executive Officer, an experienced international transportation professional.


FY2019 Board Members
(July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020)
William D. McKnight
Chairman, Augusta
Kelly Farr
Vice Chairman, Atlanta
Joel O. Wooten, Jr.
Secretary and Treasurer, Columbus
James Allgood, Jr.
Paul Bowers
Member, Atlanta
Kent Fountain
Member, Screven
Ben H. Hall, Jr.
Member, Dublin
Douglas J. Hertz
Member, Atlanta
Julie Hunt
Member, Tifton
R. Kevin Jackson
Member, Savannah
Charles K. Tarbutton
Member, Sandersville
 James A. Walters
Member, Gainesville
 Philip Wilheit, Jr.
Member, Gainesville